Home > Recipes > Money Mac

Money Mac

I got rave reviews at a recent “cooking gig” for the following baked mac ‘n cheese recipe.  My clientele literally came from four different continents, both children and adults.  I wanted to include mac ‘n cheese for the kids, but it turned out that the adults were the ones most impressed.  The kids liked it, but they probably would’ve been happy with the bland blue box.

1 pound elbow macaroni
1 stick butter
6 TBS flour
4 cups half and half
1 cup chicken stock
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp granulated garlic
8 oz sharp cheddar cheese (shredded)
8 oz colby jack cheese (shredded)
8 oz Velveeta (cubed)
Topping:
1/2 a bag Goldfish crackers (crumbled)
1/2 stick melted butter

Boil the pasta to “super al dente”. The box directions suggest to boil for 9-11 minutes. I found eight minutes to be perfect. The pasta will still have a bit of a bite, but will absorb the cheese sauce nicely.

Speaking of cheese sauce, the key is to think cream gravy. The half and half will make it rich and creamy, while the addition of a bit of chicken stock adds nice flavor. Make a roux with the butter and flour, add the half and half and stock and simmer over low heat until the mixture thickens (whisk frequently and use a heavy bottomed pot to prevent scorching). Off the heat, gradually stir in the cheese. Velveeta, while just about as fake as margarine, is a fabulous melter and will help stabilize everything. Colby Jack also melts nicely and has decent flavor. Sharp cheddar is all about flavor but isn’t a great melter. I think combining the three is the best way to rich, cheesey goodness. Mix the cheese sauce and pasta together and pour into a 9 x 13 baking dish. Top with buttered Goldfish crackers and bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

I suggest doubling the recipe to insure leftovers. Allow the mac ‘n cheese to sit in the fridge over night and it will set up like polenta. Slice into strips, bread with seasoned flour, and deep fry! Chicken fried mac ‘n cheese! That’s money, baby!

Categories: Recipes
  1. Dianna
    October 4, 2010 at 8:26 am

    This looks and sound so good! If you make it again let me know I would like to try!

    • Jay
      October 4, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      Dianna, I was already planning to share this with the fam. It would be wrong to keep it to myself.

  2. bet365 italia
    October 4, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    hi!This was a really magnificentsuper post!
    I come from roma, I was fortunate to discover your blog in wordpress
    Also I learn a lot in your topic really thanks very much i will come daily

  3. Becka
    October 19, 2010 at 7:20 am

    I am very excited to see this recipe here as I heard great things about it after that potluck. Wish I could have been there. 🙂 Definitely adding this one to the recipe file.

  4. Jen
    October 19, 2010 at 7:26 am

    I was telling Beck how good the mac n cheese was after the missions conference lol! =) Deep fried, wow!
    (Beck it wasn’t a potluck lol but…)

  5. Becka
    October 19, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Oh, oops… Well, regardless. I heard great things. lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

