Home > Narcissistic Ramblings > Foodie W.M.D.

Foodie W.M.D.

Weapons that Make for Delicious! My fellow foodies will understand the strange fulfillment found in traveling off the beaten path. To look beyond main stream, everyday brands and occassionally splurge on upscale products. Sometimes you end up going back to the normal stuff, but many times you find a gem that changes your culinary world. Allow me to share a few of these wonderful finds and encourage you to give them a try….

When it comes to BBQ sauces, my undisputed champion is Famous Dave's!  I'm so glad it's in our grocery stores now.  Until fairly recently, I had to depend on a few kind souls to bring me some from out-of-state.  I'm all about variety, so you'll pretty much always find three or four of Dave's varieties in my fridge.  Bulls Eye, the best of the main stream brands, is solid, but, as you can see, not the BBQ Family's favorite.

When it comes to BBQ sauces, my undisputed champion is Famous Dave's! I'm so glad it's in our grocery stores now. Until fairly recently, I had to depend on a few kind souls to bring me some from out-of-state. I'm all about variety, so you'll pretty much always find three or four of Dave's varieties in my fridge. Bulls Eye, the best of the main stream brands, is solid, but, as you can see, not the BBQ Family's favorite.

wmd2-005

Chipotles are smoked jalapenos. Dry 'em and grind 'em and you have one crazy tasty spice! Quite spicy and the smokiness really shines through. Celery salt adds a depth of flavor to my BBQ meats that can't really be described. Not terribly fragrant, but it adds just a little something in the background to make food more interesting. It is the base for my BBQ rubs. I find it doesn't mix well with Asian flavors, though. I know black pepper isn't anything out of the ordinary, but I don't think enough people grind it fresh. Totally different world from the stale pre-ground stuff you buy in those little red and white cans. Get yourself a pepper mill and you'll never go back!

wmd-018

And on to my Extra Virgin Olive Oil collection! Why would anyone need three different types of olive oil? First, extra virgin olive oil is all about flavor (don't confuse it with "pure olive oil"). You can't think of it like you do canola oil, which has pretty much no flavor. Olive oil is like coffee. You get distinctive flavors from various regions. My go-to stuff is pictured in the middle, Trader Joe's California Estate. It is only $4.99 for a 16.9 oz bottle. Really quite a steal for extra virgin that actually has nice flavor. Fruity and a bit nutty. The oil on the right is Los Villares. It is from Spain and has a distinctive peppery finish to it. On the left is the darling of our household, Carm from Portugal. Incredibly fruity, it works with any Italian dish. Carm and Los Villares are not cheap, so they're a special treat. Don't try to deep fry with extra virgin, you dip bread in it, make salad dressings, and drizzle on your entree. You've not truly eaten Italian until you've had it with fresh extra virgin olive oil.

  1. WildBill
    December 23, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Hey brother Jay;
    Just checking out the new website from the old hospital bed. I figure if I cant eat myself I can aleast do so vicariuosly. nice job as usaual. Hope to be out of here soon and maybe well enough to go on “safari” again. salute~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

